Skip to content

Country Drawers

July 16, 2008

Wow.  Tom Jones knew that part of our name was badass even before we were born. 

We’ll get on to the business of show business in a moment, but first, a short anecdote about last weekend:

I took Billy to test drive a new car on Saturday, at the home of some very well-mannered, extremely caucasian Littletonites.  Billy drove the car, liked it, and we were invited inside by mom to have ice water on the patio.  She sat us down, asked us questions about where we were from and whatnot, then said:

So am I looking at a father (me) and son (Billy) here?

Billy nearly choked on his ice water, burst out laughing, and said, “I’m older than he is!”

“Oh goodness,” said the nice lady, “that’ll teach me to open my mouth.”

I was quite hung over and heavily sedated at the time, so I chuckled, shook my head, and immediately realized, with Billy’s assistance of course, that this exchange was much, much more powerful than when some guy called Billy my sidekick

And I was even wearing a baseball cap which sufficiently hid my affliction

So there you have it.  Atomic Drawers is now a father and son act.  Vanessa is Billy’s hot stepmom.  The band’s dynamic has changed drastically.  We haven’t learned Father and Son by Cat Stevens yet, nor Cat’s in the Cradle by Harry Chapin, but if we have to, we have to.  But at my age, it’s hard to remember all of these damned lyrics. 

On to band updates–After a weeklong sojourn to the Great State, we’re geared up to start playing more regularly again.  We practiced several times over the past week and have hopefully shaken the rust off.    

We’ll be playing both kinds of music tonight at Lincoln’s Roadhouse–Country and Western.  We’re going to play a few covers and a wonderfully homespun new song that Billy wrote about Thanksgiving.   

Come out and Get Yer Shreveport On with Atomic Drawers; we’ll be starting sometime between 9 and 10. 

And while we’ll probably be a bit sloppy after the layoff, it’s still important for me to cherish these special times with my son.  

JT

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

